Lifestyle

Adding a Tropical Taste in my Nordic Home

I enjoy taking care of living organisms. Growing up at my mother’s household we had a tank of fish. I remember i even named the fish but they were quite alot of fish with similar appearance. However, I could not remember which one was which. I remember we had a number of gold fish too. It was wonderful. I would just sit there by the tank and admire the fish. We used to feed them every morning with small pellets of fish food. My brother and I would help each other clean the fish tanks once a while. Few years later I come home and noticed the fish tank was not there. My mother had given it to one of the guys that sell fish and fish tanks nearby home. Taking care of living organisms is not as easy as you all think.

Theeeeeen my mother started having plants on the balcony. We had variety of plants too, from aloe vera to plants that draped down and adding movement. We watered the plants every other day.

When i moved to Sweden, my husband’s apartment had zero living organisms. And because i enjoyed taking care of living organisms i decided to buy a few plants. I had an orchid, a white one. It was very beautiful but once it passed its blooming phase, it phased out. Now i have just its leaves in the pot. Days later i came a cross an Anthurium.

Anthuriums are native to tropical America. Anthuriums are grown for their brightly colored flower spathes and their ornamental leaves. Anthuriums are colorful and beautiful. They attract attention especially when placed indoors. They are exotic-looking houseplants and very easy to grow indoors. I feel like these plants stand out in my home. The pot was quite full so i divided the plant into two.

Spending a little green on greens can go a long way. It’s not just about improving your indoor aesthetic. Even if you don’t normally notice a plant’s presence, seeing a plant can subconsciously make you feel calm and relaxed. If you do not have a plant, own one 🙂

img_0964
Aren’t they eye-catching

img_0966

img_0968
The leaves are quite big

2 thoughts on “Adding a Tropical Taste in my Nordic Home

  1. Wow! I am so impressed. Plants do beautify and purify your home. I feel good sitting on the balcony watching all those plants. The money plant (epipremnum aureum) is doing very well. Now I am just waiting for the money to come rolling in! Just sayin’

    Like

Leave a Reply

